133 Leprosy Review

## **EDITORIAL**

## 1. First Mexican Congress of Dermatology

Dr. Fernando Latapí, Secretary of the Mexican Society of Dermatology, informs us that this Society will celebrate the 25th anniversary of its foundation in September 1961 and in honour of this is organizing the First Mexican Congress of Dermatology to take place 30 August to 2 September. The themes of the Congress will be: Dermatology in Mexico, Therapeutics in Dermatology, Surgery of the Skin, Tropical Dermatology (with presentation of clinical cases) and certain free themes. There will also be a session devoted to the most common skin diseases in Mexico and their relation to general medicine. The President of the Congress will be Dr. F. Latapí, the Vice-President Dr. P. Lavalle, the Secretary Dr. A. Saúl, and the Treasurer Dr. J. Peniche. All correspondence should be directed to Pascua Dermatology Centre, Dr. Garcíadiego Street No. 21, Mexico 7, D.F.

## 2. Decorations for Leprologists in Brazil

By Decree of 2.12.60 the President of the Republic of Brazil, Dr. Juscelino Kubitschek de Oliveira, M.D. decorated as Officers of the National Order of Medical Merit the following leprologists and sanitarian co-workers in Leprosy Control in Brazil:

Dr. Antonio Gonçalves Peryassu, the famous entomologist who intensified leprosy control as Delegate of Federal Public Health in Pará; Dr. Francisco E. A. Rabello, the creator of the concept of polar classification in leprosy at the Cairo Congress of 1938; Dr. HERACLÍDES C. DE SOUZA-ARAÚJO who has worked since 1915 in the study, control, and teaching of leprosy in Brazil; Dr. JANDUHY CARNEIRO, author of the project for the National Campaign against Leprosy; Dr. José P. B. Costa who as director of health of the state of Rio Grande do Sul founded the Itapoan leprosarium: Dr. LAFAYETTE DE FREITAS who as director of rural sanitation intensified leprosy control in various states; Dr. Maya Faillace, technician in leprosy of the public health department of the state of Rio Grande do Sul; Dr. ORESTES DINIZ, director of the national leprosy service; Dr. SAMUEL LIBANIO who founded the Santa Isabel Leprosarium when director of health of the state of Minas Gerais: Dr. THEOPHILO DE ALMEIDA who was first director of Curupaity leprosarium, Rio de Janeiro (1928-1940). The Decree ascribes the honour to "their notable and relevant services done on behalf of the national public health". By another Decree of December 1960 the President extended the same decoration to Dr. HOWARD WINDSOR WADE. President of the International Leprosy Association.

EDITORIAL 134

In addition, Dr. H. C. de Souza-Araújo, who kindly supplied the above information, has given the present day staffing in public health as follows:

Ministry of Health:
Dr. Catete Pinheiro, M.D., M.P.H.
Dr. Bichat Rodrigues, M.D., C.P.H.
Dr. Joao Baptista Risi, M.D., C.P.H.
Address: Rua São Cristóvão 1298,

Rio de Janeiro, E.G.

Chief of Institute of

Leprology: Dr. CANDIDO SILVA, M.D., C.P.H. Chief of Central Dispensary: Dr. AVELINO MIGUEZ ALONSO, M.D.